Real Estate Weekly
Image default
Deals & Dealmakers

ULI announces committee and jury members for annual awards

The Urban Land Institute New York has just  announced the Awards Committee and Jury members for its Second Annual Awards for Excellence in Development, a statewide contest that recognizes the best land use and development practices in the real estate industry.

Photo by Brad.K/ Flickr
Photo by Brad.K/ Flickr

Award categories include office, housing, mixed-use, repositioning or redevelopment, institutional, and civic space. The event also added a hotel and retail category to recognize the growing number of projects in these areas across the state. David Schonbraun, co-CIO of SL Green Realty, and Brian Collins, head of development at Fisher Brothers, were named co-chairs of the awards committee.

“Real estate fuels the economic engine of New York – and our industry must meet each challenge by becoming more innovative than ever before,” said Brian Collins, Awards Committee Co-Chair and Head of Development at Fisher Brothers. “By elevating the finest statewide projects, we can help drive the positive growth and change needed to sustain our cities for generations to come.”

“Contenders for the Awards for Excellence know that development means more than just topping out a building,” said David Schonbraun, Awards Committee Co-Chair and Co-CIO of SL Green Realty Corp. “We are excited to find the elite projects that go further by combining the best in planning, design, resilience, market success and community impact.”

Hunter’s Point South Living, the No. 7 Line Extension Project, the East Harlem Center for Living & Learning, St. Ann’s Warehouse, the September 11 Memorial Museum & Pavilion, Brookfield Place, and Conventus won during the inaugural staging of the event held last March.

The Awards Committee will begin accepting submissions on September 12. The Awards Committee and Awards Jury are composed of New York real estate insiders such as developers, architects, urban planners, construction managers and investors.

The awards gala is set for next April. A full list of the Awards Committee and Jury members is provided below.

2017 Awards for Excellence Committee Members 2017 Awards for Excellence Jury
Co-Chair: Brian Collins, Head of Development, Fisher Brothers Scott C. Alper, President & CIO – Witkoff
Co-Chair: David Schonbraun, Co-CIO, SL Green Realty Corp Cia Buckley, CIO – Dune Real Estate Partners
Ed Baquero, President – Corgin Real Estate Group Vishaan Chakrabarti, Founder & CEO – Partnership for Architecture and Urbanism
Hilary Bertsch, Principal – Perkins Eastman Alexander Chudnoff, Vice Chairman – Jones Lang LaSalle
Melissa Burch, General Manager – Lend Lease Fiona Cousins, Principal – Arup


Jonathan Drescher, SVP Project Development – The Durst Organization Michael Franco, EVP CIO – Vornado Realty Trust
David Genovese, CEO – Baywater Properties Veronica Hackett, Principal – The Clarett Group
John Gunther-Mohr, Senior Vice President – Santander Bank Ken Hubbard, Senior MD – Hines


Fred Harris, Managing Director, Development – Jonathan Rose Companies Hope Knight, President & CEO – Greater Jamaica Development Corp.
Patricia Hauserman, SCP Building Repositioning Sector Lead – Tishman/AECOM Gene Kohn, Chairman – Kohn Pedersen Fox
Bruce Kimmelman, EVP Capital Markets & Acquisitions – Macklowe Properties Robert C. Lieber, Executive Managing Director – C-III Capital Partners
Peter Liebowitz, SCP Planning – WSP/Parsons Brinckerhoff David L. Picket, President – Gotham Organization
Michael J.  McNamara, Global Head of Real Estate Investments – Manulife/John Hancock
Richard T. Monopoli, VP Development – Boston Properties
Mehul Patel, COO – Midwood Investment & Development
Sara Queen, EVP Asset Management – Brookfield Place
Chris Shehadeh, Senior MD, Regional Director NY – Tishman Speyer
Nick Sinatra, President and Founder – Sinatra and Company
David Stebbins, EVP – Buffalo Urban Development Corporation
Michael Stern, CEO – JDS Development Group
Mark Strauss, Senior Partner – FXFOWLE Architects
Belinda Watts, Leader Financial Services Workplace Design – Gensler
Laura Yablon Rapaport, SVP, Development – L&L Holding Company

Related posts

Avison Young arranges 99-year ground lease for an estimated $21.5 million


Rosewood Realty Group Brokers $36.5 Million Sale of 15-Story Hells Kitchen Mixed-Use Building


Miller Construction Begins Work on an 80,000-Square-Foot Build-to-Suit Industrial Warehouse in Orlando