Real Estate Weekly
Image default
Photo Gallery

IN PHOTOS: REBNY’s 121st Annual Banquet

During its 121st Annual Banquet last week, the Real Estate Board of New York (REBNY) honored Carl Weisbrod, the Chairman of the New York City Planning Commission and Director of the New York City Department of City Planning, who recently announced his retirement.

“We established the John Zuccotti public service award in honor of our friend, a statesman in every sense of the word,” said Rob Speyer, REBNY Chairman. “In the spirit of John’s legacy, we recognize New York City Planning Chairman Carl Weisbrod for his outstanding career in public service. Carl’s contributions to our city span five mayors. He revitalized Times Square, founded the Downtown Alliance, helped us rebuild after 9/11, and most recently, announced the rezoning of Midtown East.”

“The great turnout at our 121st Annual Banquet is a sign of the strength and unity of the real estate industry,” said John H. Banks, III, REBNYPresident. “As we move forward, we will continue to focus on progress, understanding that the success of our endeavors and our members means the success of New York City. Together we lead the way for a brighter 2017.”

City and State officials who joined REBNY members at the event include New York State Governor Andrew Cuomo, New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio, New York State Comptroller Thomas P. DiNapoli, New York City Public Advocate Letitia James, Bronx Borough President Ruben Diaz Jr., Queens Borough President Melinda Katz, New York State Senators David Carlucci, Leroy Comrie, Michael Gianaris, Martin J. Golden, Timothy M. Kennedy, Jeffrey D. Klein, George S. Latimer, Diane Savino and David J. Valesky and New York State Assembly members Carl E. Heastie, Brian Kolb, Steven Cymbrowitz, Mark Gjonaj, and Robert J. Rodriguez;

The awards presented at this year’s banquet stands as one of the top professional distinctions in the real estate industry.

Rob Speyer, Suzan Zuccotti, and Ric Clark of Brookfield Property Group and Brookfield Property Partners presented The John E. Zuccotti Public Service Award to Carl Weisbrod.

MaryAnne Gilmartin, President and Chief Executive Officer of Forest City Ratner Companies, the New York office of Forest City Realty Trust, Inc., was given The Bernard H. Mendik Lifetime Leadership in Real Estate Award for service to the real estate industry over the course of her career.

The Harry B. Helmsley Distinguished New Yorker Award was given to by Marc Holliday, Chief Executive Officer of SL Green Realty Corp. This award recognizes contributions to New York’s civic welfare.

Jed Walentas, Chief Executive Officer of Two Trees Management Co., received The Kenneth R. Gerrety Humanitarian Award, which recognizes a REBNY member’s service to the community.

Peter Riguardi, President of the New York Tri-State Region for Jones Lang LaSalle, was honored with The Louis Smadbeck Broker Recognition Award. This award, presented by Bob Knakal and James Nelson of Cushman & Wakefield, recognizes a commercial broker with exceptional personal and professional integrity and leadership in the brokerage community.

Larry Silverstein presented Bill Dacunto, Executive Vice President of Operations for Silverstein Properties, Inc., with The George M. Brooker Management Executive of the Year Award, which recognizes individuals of superior accomplishment in property management.

Lindsay Ornstein, Partner at Transwestern, accepted The Young Real Estate Professional of the Year Award presented by Bill Montana of Savills Studley. This award is selected by the Young Men’s/Women’s Real Estate Association of New York.

« of 2 »

Related posts

IN PICTURES: UJA-Federation REX Premiere


C&W hosts Markman Madness Tournament


IN PICTURES: Official images from The Shops at Hudson Yards big opening bash