Real Estate Weekly
Image default
Construction & Design

Architects council unveils new intern program

The final steps to a fully revised experience program for aspiring architects has been unveiled by the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB).
The effective date for NCARB’s “overhaul” of the Intern Development Program (IDP) has been set for June 29, 2016.

The overhaul will result in simplifying the experience reporting areas from 17 to six. This latest action completes a multi-year effort to revamp the program.

The first phase removed one-third of required hours known as “elective hours,” effective July 1 of this year. The restructuring into six reporting areas is designed to better reflect current architectural practice and technology, based on data from NCARB’s “Practice Analysis” survey.

To assist IDP participants in transitioning to the new program, NCARB has also released details on how the current program will map to the future version.

The IDP’s current 17 experience areas will be realigned into six broad practice-based areas.

The six new experience areas include: Practice Management, Project Management, Programming & Analysis, Project Planning & Design, Project Development & Documentation, and Construction & Evaluation.

These areas will also be reflected in the six divisions of the new licensing exam, Architect Registration Examination (ARE) 5.0, which will launch in late 2016, providing further alignment between the two programs.

The revisions to the IDP were set in motion by a vote of the NCARB Board of Directors in September 2014. At that time, they voted to modify the IDP — first, by removing elective hours this past July, and next by reallocating these hours into the six new areas.

In making these decisions, the BOD considered feedback from various internship committees, interviews with industry leaders, and results from the 2012 NCARB Practice Analysis of Architecture.

“This overhaul will broaden the scope of the IDP’s experience areas without reducing the program’s rigor,” said NCARB CEO Michael Armstrong. “It will also help ensure that aspiring architects acquire the skills and knowledge
needed to practice in today’s evolving world.ˮ

To help prepare aspiring architects and their supervisors for this transition, NCARB has released a map to show
how the current 17 experience areas will merge into the six new areas.

In the coming months, the organization will also provide helpful video webinars, blog articles, social media updates, and more.

Since each state sets its own requirements for initial licensure, NCARB is encouraging aspiring architects to verify the specific experience requirements in their jurisdiction.

Related posts

AI and cloud adoption propel data center demand to record levels for 2023


DeSimone continues global expansion with latest UK acquisition


Rare green warehouse set to open in The Bronx