Real Estate Weekly
Image default
Deals & Dealmakers

REBNY Announces 2023 Annual Event Honorees

The Real Estate Board of New York (REBNY), New York City’s leading real estate trade association, today announced the distinguished New York City civic and real estate industry leaders who will be honored at the REBNY Annual. On April 20th at the Glasshouse, this signature event brings together industry leaders and public officials for a night of celebration, unmatched networking, awards, and a world-class culinary experience to recognize our collective contributions to New York City. Honorees will receive awards during the night’s seated dinner alongside the iconic REBNY dais to recognize their unparalleled commitment to the welfare of New York City, its residents and their exceptional contributions to real estate. 

“Our 2023 honorees have helped make New York City a bastion of economic opportunity and innovation and are united in their commitment to service and our civic life,” said REBNY Chairman Douglas Durst. “In recognizing their exemplary leadership, we hope to inspire other New Yorkers to leave their own indelible mark on their industry and community.”

“Our honorees exemplify real estate’s profoundly positive impact on New York City’s growth and success,” said REBNY President James Whelan.  “Their remarkable passion, vision and ingenuity have elevated our industry and strengthened the foundations of our City.”

Honorees to be Recognized at the 2023 REBNY Annual Event

For more information on this year’s honorees, see here.

The Bernard H. Mendik Lifetime Leadership in Real Estate Award

Presented to Barry M. Gosin, Chief Executive Officer of Newmark Group, Inc., for exceptional accomplishments and invaluable contributions to New York and its real estate industry.

The Harry B. Helmsley Distinguished New Yorker Award

Presented to Mary Ann Tighe, Chief Executive Officer, NY Tri-State Region, CBRE, for a lifetime of exceptional accomplishment in the profession and having made invaluable contributions to New York’s civic welfare.

The Kenneth R. Gerrety Humanitarian Award

Presented to John C. Santora, Chairman, New York Tri-State, Cushman & Wakefield, for outstanding service to the community.

The John E. Zuccotti Public Service Award

Presented to Dan DoctoroffFounder & Chairman of Target ALS, forexceptional accomplishments and service to the public’s interest.

The George M. Brooker Management Executive of the Year Award

Presented to Elly Pateras, Executive Managing Director, Douglas Elliman Property Management, recognizing exceptional career accomplishments as well as service to the profession and the broader community.

The Louis Smadbeck Memorial Broker Recognition Award

Presented to Fredrick K. Marek, Vice-Chairman of Helmsley Spear LLC, recognizing a REBNY broker with personal and professional integrity, long-term leadership and prominence in the brokerage community and participation in REBNY’s committees.

The Young Real Estate Professional of the Year Award

Presented to James Nelson, Principal, Head of Tri-State Investment Sales, Avison Young, for incredible professional achievements as a rising star of the industry and for civic leadership.

A portion of proceeds from REBNY’s annual event will go to the REBNY Foundation to fund social impact initiatives in New York City such as the REBNY Fellows Leadership Program in partnership with Coro New York and Building Skills NY, a nonprofit construction workforce development organization that connects underemployed New Yorkers with jobs and training to create new career pathways into the construction industry.

More information on the REBNY Annual, including sponsorship and ticket sales, can be found here. 

Related posts

Avison Young arranges 99-year ground lease for an estimated $21.5 million


Rosewood Realty Group Brokers $36.5 Million Sale of 15-Story Hells Kitchen Mixed-Use Building


Miller Construction Begins Work on an 80,000-Square-Foot Build-to-Suit Industrial Warehouse in Orlando