Breaking News

AIA-NJ announces annual service winners

The Jersey Shore section of the New Jersey chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA-NJ) today announced six winners at its annual Service Awards event that recently took place at the Robert Meyner Reception Center at PNC Bank Arts Center in Holmdel, N.J.

“We are delighted to present these awards, which celebrate the mission of AIA to promote the profession of architecture,” said Malcolm C. Burton, AIA, president of the Jersey Shore section of AIA-NJ. “We need to cultivate and maintain a new generation of talented architects, and making the public aware of their contributions to the profession through the Service Awards will help to meet this goal.”

Left to right: Rafael Da Silva AIA (Vice President/Service Awards Chair), Stephen Carlidge AIA (Distinguished Service Award), April Horvath AIA (Young Architect of the Year), Chanta Jackson (Resident of the Year), Frank Tomaino AIA, Alysa Antonis (Intern of the Year), Michael Millemann AIA (Firm of the Year), Richard Tokarski AIA (Architect of the Year), Malcolm Burton AIA (President), Craig Brearley (President Elect)

The Jersey Shore section presents Service Awards every year to celebrate exceptional achievements by members of the architecture profession as well as by architecture firms in Monmouth and Ocean Counties. The winners are chosen for their positive impact on the architecture profession and local communities through excellence in architectural design.

The recipients were:

Stephen J. Carlidge, AIA, of Ocean Grove, N.J., who received the “Distinguished Service Award” for his roles as past president of AIA Jersey Shore and chair of the AIA-NJ Design Day Conference; his decade-long service as board member of the New Jersey Chapter of the March of Dimes of New Jersey; and a 32-year career as an architect at many firms, including his own Shore Point Architecture, based in Ocean Grove, N.J.

Richard P. Tokarski Jr., AIA, of Brick, N.J., who received the “Architect of the Year Award” for his regular involvement in pro bono work for non-profits in New Jersey, including the Academy of Grace and Peace in Toms River, N.J.

April M. Horvath, AIA, of Ocean Grove, N.J., who received the “Young Architect of the Year Award” for her contribution to the redevelopment of Asbury Park, N.J., which utilized urban planning subject material from her master’s degree thesis, written at the Savannah College of Art and Design in Savannah, Ga.

Alysa Antonis of Millstone, N.J., a student at the Philadelphia University College of Architecture and the Built Environment, located in Philadelphia, Pa., who received the “Intern of the Year Award.”

Left to right: Malcolm Burton AIA (President), Eric Pier, Nicholas Barone, Frank Costantini, Kelly Semple, Ankenny Hernandez, Sophia Faheem, Jennifer Brzozowski, Rafael Da Silva AIA (Vice President/Service Awards Chair), Craig Brearley AIA (President Elect)

Chanta L. Jackson of Long Branch, N.J., who received the “Resident of the Year Award” for several community service endeavors including volunteering as project manager for the 10,000-square-foot expansion of the Second Baptist Church, located in Long Branch, N.J.

Tokarski and Milleman Architects, an architecture firm with headquarters in Brick, N.J., who received the “Firm of the Year Award” for their commitment to certain core values; their work on the Hope Center, a faith-based organization based in Jersey City, N.J., that ministers to disadvantaged children; their commitment to AIA Jersey Shore, attendance at AIA activities and intern mentorship; and service by each of their partners as former AIA Jersey Shore trustees and current service as co-chairs of the AIA Jersey Shore Codes Committee.

In addition to the awards ceremony, the Service Awards event included an exhibit of student work from the 2012 graduating class of the Brookdale Community College School of Architecture, located in Lincroft, N.J.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *